Community supports seniors with Recognition Night

  • three students pose with their awards

S.S. Seward seniors earned $48,600 in scholarships and awards this year. They were given out during Senior Recognition Night to recognize academic success, leadership, community service and other achievements.

“The scholarships mean a lot to me,” shared Kendall Guerra. “They’re a really big help.” Guerra received the American Legion Post 1250 Auxiliary Unit Scholarship, Patricia Faliski Conard Award for Nursing, Stauber Performance Ingredients Science Scholarship, and Michael and Laura Regelski Science and Technology Scholarship. Guerra will continue her studies at Hartwick College in the nursing program. She shared that her mom, a nurse practitioner, inspired her to reach this goal.

Nick Perez, received the S.S. Seward Alumni Association Alex F. Paul Memorial award with Stephanie Reicherter, and the S.S. Seward Alumni Association Military Award along with four other students – Brennon McGoldrick, Maria Garcia, Colin Lopez, and Anthony Luca – who, like Perez, will be entering the military. 

“It was nice seeing all of my friends get recognized for their accomplishments,” Perez shared. “I’m very proud of them. We finally made it. Seeing that so many organizations want to support us and the school was really awesome and I’m so grateful.” 

Some of the organizations which provide scholarships include the S.S. Seward Alumni Association ($12,000), the American Legion and Auxiliary ($2,850), the Florida Teachers Association or FTA ($2,600), the Parent Teacher Student Association or PTSA ($1,300) and the high school student council ($400). 

After the ceremony, a slideshow was shown with photos from throughout the seniors’ journey at Florida.

“The ceremony celebrated the accomplishments of the graduating seniors and their contributions to the school community, marking a touching moment as they prepare to embark on their next journey beyond high school,” shared Principal Michael Maesano.

Group photo of all 28 students that received awards